Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Blizzard Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00006
Scope and Contents
The collection contains correspondence, photographs and other material related to three Franklin, West Virginia brothers who served in the United States military during World War II. The bulk of the collection consists of nearly 200 letters of outgoing correspondence penned by three brothers, Arlie, Arthur, and W. Russell Blizzard to their mother and sisters in Franklin, West Virginia. Some of the topics discussed in the correspondence include army training, work, Arlie's visit to Japan and...
Dates:
1929-1949; Majority of material found in 1942-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Gertha Sykes Collins Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents
Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Dates:
1942-1951
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McLeod-Tyler Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00340
Scope and Contents
The McLeod-Tyler Family papers contains materials from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed. Also included in the...
Dates:
1930-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Donald Mullikan Letters
Collection
Identifier: SC 01044
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1942-1945, of Donald Mullikan written to his sister, Lois Mullikan. Donald was stationed in multiple areas during the war, including the Canal Zone in Panama.
Dates:
1942-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center